Starting a New Job

After 8.5 years as a Business Intelligence consultant with Westbay Solutions Group / Idhasoft, I decided to join the team at Claraview, which is a division of Teradata. The years that I spent with my team at Westbay, and then Idhasoft, are years that I will cherish. I couldn’t ask for a better team with which to work. Over those years, I had the honor and privilege of working with some of the most talented people in the BusinessObjects arena. I wouldn’t trade that for anything.

As a Professional Services Consultant with Claraview, I will have the opportunity to take my expertise to a whole new level. Being a division of Teradata, I will have the opportunity to work on projects with folks from Teradata. I don’t have a lot of experience working with Teradata databases, and am really looking forward to getting my feet wet on this. However, Claraview isn’t tied to Teradata technologies. Claraview, as a Business Intelligence firm, is committed to working with any and all technologies that the client needs. So, I will continue working with all the technologies that I know so well, in addition to learning some new technologies. It’s the best of both worlds.

I also like that Claraview is a small company, with a big parent. So, I get to enjoy the intimacy of a small company, while getting the benefits of a large company. Again, it’s the best of both worlds.

So my first day with Claraview was on Monday, 3/14/2011. I spent most of that day doing paperwork, and new employee training, as well as getting my new laptop set up. The next morning, I was on a plane to Northern California, to go on-site with a client for my first assignment. That’s what I call hitting the bricks running! In this project, I am joining an existing team of consultants from Teradata, to help improve performance with their BusinessObjects system.

So far, what I’ve seen of Claraview, and Teradata, has impressed me. They treat their employees and customer very well. I could get used to this. 🙂

12 Responses to Starting a New Job

  1. Hi Michael

    I wish you all the best …

    CU @user conf I hope….

  2. Roland says:

    Congratulations on the new job!!

  3. Kay says:

    Congrats Mike….All the best. I know you’ll be just fine

  4. Dave Rathbun says:

    Congratulations, Michael, on starting the next chapter in your BI career.

  5. Kathy says:

    Congratulations Michael!. I saw Amy from Penn at a higher ed conference recently and she told me you had a new job. I’m glad you found a great job. If you are still in Northern California call me.

  6. Marissa says:

    Michael, I am so happy to hear you are in a great place and they are treating you well.

  7. Raj Namineni says:

    Hi Michael,

    Congrats!!! Good to hear that you took a new opportunity and it is going good. Actually i was going through your blog and found lot of useful information. Thanks for sharing your experience with 4.0. I tried to reach you on mobile also but couldnot. Can you please email me ur personal number or email id so that we can be in contact. Thanks and stay in touch.

  8. Michael, we are very happy to have you as a part of our team here at Claraview. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

